Student and Alumni News
Jeannette K. Watson Fellow Sharnom Chowdhury



David Musheyev ’21 (Queens), Eric Dayts ’22 (Hunter), Cien Huang ’21 (Hunter), and Priya Singh ’22 (Hunter) are among a group of CUNY students that have been selected as Jonas E. Salk Scholars. Their awards include an $8,000 scholarship, apportioned during their pursuit of an advanced degree in medicine or biomedical research. MORE

Catherine Hernandez ’23 (City) has received a $5,000 Lloyd Blankfein Scholarship. She will use the funds to study the Valdivia population in Ecuador, which is one of the earliest settled populations in the Americas.

Three Macaulay students have earned Fulbright awards: Nickolas Khimerik ’22 (Brooklyn) will head to Moldova; Sasha Balkaran ’21 (Hunter) will spend a year in Spain; and Michael Amrami ’22 (Queens) is going to Israel to pursue a Master’s in Public Health (MPH) Degree at the University of Haifa. Zainab Farooqi (Queens) and Kathleen Ray (Hunter) both received a Fulbright English Teaching Assistant Awards and will head to Korea to assist English-language teachers in the classroom. DETAILS

Seven students have won Jeannette K. Watson Fellowships: Nishanth Araveti ’25 (Hunter), Sharnom Chowdhury ’25 (Queens), Katherine Grivkov ’25 (John Jay), Jiada Valenza ’25 (Hunter), Andrew Williams ’25 (City), Yori Xhumari ’24 (City), and Katherine Yenna ’25 (Staten Island) will receive annual funding to develop their personal, professional, and cultural potential. DETAILS


Ryan Jose (City College) is the Grove School Valedictorian

At College of Staten Island, Maxwell Velikodny and Cheyenne Watson have been chosen as valedictorian and salutatorian, respectively. At Brooklyn College, Carina D’Urso, who is graduating with a B.A. in Arts, Education, and Social Change will be the valedictorian, while Hafsa Fatima, graduating with a B.S in Psychology and a B.A. in Art, is the salutatorian. Teresa Mettela, graduating with a BA in International Studies and minors in Journalism and Sociology, is a salutatorian for the Colin Powell School of Global Studies (City). Ashley Mei Bo Torrenti is Baruch’s valedictorian and graduates with a BBA in International Marketing Management from the Zicklin School of Business and a minor in New York City Interdisciplinary Studies and Business Law. Ryan Jose is the Grove School of Engineering (City College) Valedictorian.


Edward Friedman ’18 (Hunter) has won a Soros Fellowship for New Americans READ

Tatiana Economopoulos ’21 (Baruch) received the Morton Wollman Award for Outstanding Achievement in Management.

PAST AWARDS: 2021  2020   2019  2018  2017